The RUTHIE Award

Previous RUTHIE award recipients (clockwise)
Mary Shultz (2015); April Matthis (2016); Black-Eyed Susan (2017); David Greenspan (2018); Julie Atlas Muz (2019); Lola Pashalinski and Ching Valdés-Aran (2021); Jennifer Kidwell, John Kelly, and Sheila Tousey (2020).
Ruth Maleczech
Photo credit: Sylvia Platchy


The Ruth Maleczech Award is a no-strings-attached cash award granted by Mabou Mines together with Ruth’s family, Clove Galilee and Lute Breuer. The awardee is selected through a nomination process and is given to a performer who embodies Ruth’s daring and raw, naked, fearlessness in every performance. The “Ruthie” was created to honor Ruth Maleczech, the beloved artist/performer/director and co-founder of Mabou Mines. She was an inspiration, a mentor and a role model for countless artists.

Special Thanks to the W Trust with the New Horizons Foundation and many generous individuals for making this award possible.


2021 Ching Valdés-Aran & Lola Pashalinski

2020 Sheila Tousey, John Kelly & Jennifer Kidwell

2019 Julie Atlas Muz

2018 David Greenspan

2017 Black Eyed Susan

2016 April Matthis

2015 Mary Shultz

Photo credits: Mary Shultz by Phillip Hopper; David Greenspan by Lauren Gillette; Jennifer Kidwell by Ryan Collerd, courtesy of The Pew Center for Arts & Heritage; John Kelly by Steven Menendez; Sheila Tousey by Rachel Crowl.